Zebilla: Ebenezer Alumire finally wins NDC primaries 

Mr. Ebenezer Alumbire Ndebila in white smock .

A development expert with economics background, Ebenezer Alumire Ndebila, has finally won the parliamentary ticket of the opposition National Democratic Congress (NDC) in the Zebilla Constituency.

The 42-year-old contested the incumbent Member of Parliament (MP) for the area, Cletus Apul Avoka, in 2015 but lost.

He was in the race again in 2019 but lost to the same MP who later announced he would not participate in the 2024 parliamentary elections. Ndebila finally had his way at the party’s 2023 keenly contested primary election featuring seven aspirants including Ndebila at the weekend.

Mr Ebenezer Alumire Ndebila

Speaking exclusively to Word News after securing 450 votes out of 1,265, Ndebila said he won because it was his time to go home with victory. He said the delegates had spoken because he was a grassroots person and a unifier in the constituency who had been preaching peace among his colleague aspirants as well as his supporters.

“I’ve come very far with my constituents. I’ve been in this race for the last eight years. I contested in 2015, contested again in 2019 and I think I’m very familiar. I’ve become a grassroots person, very familiar with the party and I believed this was my time. It was my time to secure victory. This victory is never something that is surprising,” he said. 

Ndebila also hinted that the constituency should expect action because he was poised to inject new energy into the NDC to ensure a very huge victory for the party at the 2024 election. He added that the 2024 election would see the NDC’s main rival, the New Patriotic Party (NPP), retired in the constituency.

He added that plans were far advanced to bring all his colleague aspirants on board to secure a resounding victory for the NDC at the next year’s elections.  

The other aspirants were: Simon Batamya Aseno, who secured 99 votes; Bernard Wintimah Azumah, who got 175 votes; Maxwell Ziyerely Agbambilla, who obtained 82 votes; Agbango Simon Ayande, who garnered 50 votes; Abukura Asumda, who had 6 votes and Nelson Ndeba Ndebugre (son of the late famous lawyer, John Ndebugre), who clinched 403 votes.

Ndebila told Word News he had carefully initiated created a number of programmes designed to build the capability of the teeming youths in the constituency.

Former President John Dramani Mahama secured 1,214 votes out of 1,266 total votes cast in the constituency. Kojo Bonsu had 18 votes as Dr. Kwabena Duffour finished third with 27 votes. Six ballots were rejected.

Source: mywordfmonline.com / Gaspard Ayuureneeya

Share this article

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *